The majority of the EU just accepted controversial new online copyright laws


It was already something of a foregone conclusion, but Europe’s controversial new online copyright law took another step towards becoming official this week.

The European Union announced on Monday that 19 of the 28 member nations in the European Council voted to pass the new Copyright Directive law. Italy and Poland were among those who voted in opposition to the bill, while Estonia, Belgium and Slovenia abstained.

Regardless, each EU member nation now has two years to start enforcing the law that some have said is tantamount to widespread internet censorship. Read more…

More about Europe, Copyright, European Union, Copyright Law, and Gdpr